Queen Elizabeth II Cup

An International Event with a Tradition


The Queen Elizabeth II Cup is a Group One Thoroughbred horse race at Sha Tin Racecourse in the New Territories, Hong Kong.


Established in 1975 by the Royal Hong Kong Jockey Club, it is run annually in April, before the summer heat arrived, at a distance of 2,000 metres (ten furlongs) on turf.


The Race With Royalty and Elegance


Prior to 1997 it was run at 2,200 metres (eleven furlongs). Sponsored by renowned Swiss Watchmaker Audemars Piguet since 1999, it currently offers a purse of HK$14 million (US$1.8 million).





1975-05-05 The first QE II Cup was held to commemorate the Royal Visit to Hong Kong by Queen Elizabeth II and the Duke of Edinburgh, Prince Philip. at the Happy Valley Racecourse.


The Club, RHKJC Chairman, The Hon. P G Williams, and other Stewards greeted the Royal Couple before the race and the crowd cheered at the Presentation ceremony of the cup by Queen Elizabeth II.


The win by outsider NAZAKAT gave the race an international flavour, since the winning owner, Mr & Mrs H T Barma, were Hong Kong Indian residents, the trainer, H M Cheung, was local Chinese, and the jockey, A K Cheam, was Singaporean.


About 40,000 people were at Happy Valley for the race.



1986-10-22, The Queen returned to Hong Kong to award the QE II Cup trophy at Sha Tin racecourse.


The royal renewal was won by FOREVER GOLD (by Whistling Deer), an English Private Purchase.


The 20-1 outsider was owned by Mr & Mrs E C Lowe and trained by G Smyth and ridden by P H Chan.



1999 and there-after, it has been sponsored by renowned Swiss Watchmaker Audemars Piguet


2000, HKJC offered a special prize of HK$1 million for any winner of Q E Cup with another International races trophy.


2001 and there-after, Audemars Piguet QE II Cup entered International Group I.


2002, gained inclusion in the former World Racing Championships (former World Series Racing Championship) .
The first winner of the bonus was Japanese contender EISHIN PRESTON, who defeated another Japanese horse, AGNES DIGITAL, by half a length to win the Cup, after capturing the Hong Kong Mile (International G1-1600M) four months earlier.


2003, VENGEANCE OF RAIN was the first winner landing the Derby and 2005 Q E Cup.


2006, race saw IRRIDESCENCE upset the great filly and European Horse of the Year, OUIJA BOARD. Since becoming a Group One race in 2001, every winner of the Audemars Piguet Queen Elizabeth II Cup has been a descendant of NORTHERN DANCER.

The former World Racing Championships (former World Series Racing Championship) has not been held thereafter.


2008, the total Prize money of Q E Cup was HK$14,000,000


2010, AMBITIOUS DRAGON was th first winner landing the Derby and Q E Cup in the same racing season.


2011, Prize money for the race increases 280 times.





Date Jockey Winning horse Trainer Owner Dist.(m)
1975-05-05 A K Cheam NAZAKAT H M Cheung Mr & Mrs H T Barma 1575
1976-02-14 G W Moore SUPER WIN G Moore Mrs Chan Chiu Sheung 1800
1977-02-12 L Fox WING TAKE M K Tam Lambert Kwok 1650
1977-11-26 R Setches NAZAKAT H M Cheung Mr & Mrs H T Barma 1800
1979-04-21 K L Man GO-GETTER A Chan The Hon Oswald Cheung – R J Arculli 1600
1980-04-21 D Brosnan ALLEGRO M K Tam J L C Pearce 1600
1981-04-25 K Moses CLASSIC BOY R Burns T C Lu 1600
1982-04-21 P Paquet ALEX FLYER E Collingwood Ho Sun Wing 1400
1983-04-27 A S Cruz FIRE BALL T P Wong Mr & Mrs Chiu Wan Kee 1600
1984-04-25 A S Cruz YAU WAI T P Wong The Executors of the Estate of the late Fok Po Shang 1400
1985-04-21 D Brosnan CHAMPION JOKER P C Kan Wong Kwoon Chung & Partners 1800
1986-04-19 G Palmer POWERHOUSE L Fownes Norbert Shanks 2000
1986-10-22 P H Chan FOREVER GOLD G Smyth Mr & Mrs E C Lowe 1600
1988-04-24 P H Chan TOP GRADE K C Lo Cheng Yu Tung 1600
1989-04-22 B Thomson STAR MARK P C Kan Mr & Mrs Patrick Y Au-Yeung 1600
1990-04-21 N Tiley QUICKEN AWAY B K Ng Lo Sing Pui 1600
1991-04-21 B Thomson GALWAY P C Kan Samuel Wong Ping Wai 1800
1992-04-18 B Marcus RIVER VERDON D Hill Sir Oswald Cheung – The Hon Ronald Arculli 1600
1993-04-24 J Marshall MUHIM D Hill Joseph Chan Shu Chuen 1800
1994-04-02 M Kinane DEERFIELD N Begg Edmond Yue Kwok Yin 1800
1995-04-01 M Kinane RED BISHOP HA Ibrahim Ali Saeed Bilhab 2200
1996-04-14 L Dettori OVERBURY Saeed bin Suroor Godolphin 2200
1997-04-13 D Whyte LONDON NEWS A Laird Mr & Mrs Laurence Jaffee 2000
1998-04-19 D Whyte ORIENTAL EXPRES I W Allan Larry C K Yung 2000
1999-04-18 G Mosse JIM AND TONIC F Doumen J D Martin & R Barby 2000
2000-04-15 A Munro INDUSTRIALIST P C Kan Albert Hu Si Nok & Peter Wong Yau Ming 2000
2001-04-22 Andreas Suborics SILVANO Andreas Wöhler Stiftung Gestüt Fährhof 2000
2002-04-21 Yuichi Fukunaga EISHIN PRESTON Shuji Kitahashi Toyomitsu Hirai 2000
2003-04-27 Yuichi Fukunaga EISHIN PRESTON Shuji Kitahashi Toyomitsu Hirai 2000
2004-04-25 Glyn Schofield RIVER DANCER John Size Ronald Arculli 2000
2005-04-24 Anthony Delpech VENGEANCE OF RAIN David E. Ferraris Chow Nam & R. G. Chow Hon Man 2000
2006-04-23 Weichong Marwing IRRIDESCENCE Mike de Kock Team Valor 2000
2007-04-29 Michael Kinane VIVA PATACA John Moore Stanley Ho Hung-Sun 2000
2008-04-27 Kevin Shea ARCHIPENKO Mike de Kock Mohammed bin Khalifa Al Maktoum 2000
2009-04-26 Ryan Moore PRESVIS Luca Cumani Leonidas Marinopoulos 2000
2010-04-25 Weichong Marwing VIVA PATACA John Moore Stanley Ho Hung-Sun 2000
2011-05-01 Douglas Whyte AMBITIOUS DRAGON A.T. Millard Lam Pui Hung 2000
2012-04-29 Umberto Rispoli RULERSHIP Katsuhiko Sumii Sunday Racing Co Ltd 2000
2013-04-28 Tommy Berry MILITARY ATTACK John Moore Mr & Mrs Steven Lo Kit Sing 2000
2014-04-27 Tommy Berry DESIGNS ON ROME John Moore Cheng Keung Fai 2000
2015-04-26 N Callan BLAZING SPEED A S Cruz Fentons Racing Syndicate 2000
2016-04-24 H Bowman WERTHER J Moore Johnson Chen 2000
2017-04-30 J Moreira NEOREALISM N Hori Carrot Farm Co Ltd 2000
2018-04-29 W Buick PAKISTAN STAR A S Cruz Kerm Din 2000
2019-04-28 M Matsuoka WIN BRIGHT Y Hatakeyama Win Co Ltd 2000





There is no doubt that the APQEII Cup has captured worldwide attention from owners and trainers in the last decade.





Many top-class champions including Vengeance of Rain, Irridescence, Viva Pataca and Archipenko have all continued to build their reputations after taking the APQEII Cup.






Video Showcase
Photo Gallery



You need to log in to vote

The site requires users to be logged in before able to vote for this post.

Alternatively, if you do not have an account yet you can create one here.