Premier Cup

Foremost Primers; Topmost Elites


The final group race of the racing season.




2004-09-09, HSBC announced a three-year sponsorship with HKJC.
From 2004 to 2007 a minimum of 15 races, at least five races in each year, were named the “HSBC Premier Series”.
The sponsorship covered the highest number of races in a series so far under a Jockey Club sponsorship.





2007-06-09, the HSBC Premier Cup (handicap) became the final leg of HSBC Premier Series and a local Group 3 race.
2008-06-15, a new trophy has been named as the Premier Cup.
2010-06-16 the Premier Cup has been sponsored as Prince Jewellery & Watch Premier Cup (handicap).





Date R_no Jockey Ind. Horse Brand Trainer Weight Owner Age Race time
2007-06-09 _8 S Dye 674 EGYPTIAN RA E002 D J Hall 115 Cheng Keung Fai 5 1.20.60
2008-06-15 _10 Z Purton 681 ABLE ONE G108 J Moore 125 Dr & Mrs Cornel Li Fook Kwan 5 1.21.50
2009-06-13 _9 B Doyle 692 JOY AND FUN H014 D Cruz 133 Mr & Mrs Johnny Wong Chun Nam 5 1.21.68
2010-06-16 _9 D Beadman 696 ABLE ONE G108 J Moore 129 Dr & Mrs Cornel Li Fook Kwan 7 1.21.74
2011-06-19 _8 D Whyte 716 SICHUAN SUCCESS L307 J Size 115 Boniface Ho Ka Kui 4 1.20.76
2012-06-17 _9 M Du Plessis 700 AASHIQ K175 P O’Sullivan 114 Indian Horse Lovers Syndicate 6 1.21.75
2013-06-16 _8 T Berry 701 STERLING CITY N152 J Moore 115 Ling Chiu Shing & Gary Ling Kay Wai 4 1.20.72
2014-06-08 _8 A Suborics 691 HELENE SPIRIT M310 C Fownes 133 Sir Po-shing & Lady Woo, Wilson Woo Ka Wah & Jackson Woo Ka Biu 7 1.21.01
2015-06-14 _8 N Rawiller 696 SECRET SHAM P174 J Moore 126 David Philip Boehm 5 1.21.46
2016-06-19 _8 J Moreira 732 SUN JEWELLERY T301 J Size 118 Tung Moon Fai 4 1.21.61
2017-06-25 _7 J Moreira 757 THEWIZARDOFOZ T251 J Size 133 Martin Siu Kim Sun 4 1.20.86
2018-06-24 _7 K Teetan 748 CALIFORNIA WHIP A114 A S Cruz 114 Liang Lo Ching Yung 5 1:20.57
2019-06-23 _3 G van Niekerk 753 FLYING THUNDER B328 F C Lor 114 Mr & Mrs Horatio Ho Yiu Wing, Ho Garrick Sai Man and Ho Leslie Sai Kit 4 1.21.16






HSBC Premier Series took the first-ever title sponsor of the Jockey Club’s Premier Class Races.
It enhanced the Jockey Club’s reputation for top-class racing by at least 5 noticeable races in each seasonal meeting.
Along with years of changes, the Premier Cup has continued as a tourist attraction and focus for one of Hong Kong’s favorite past times and sporting life.





Premier Cup races have been held at a distance of 1400 meter on turf of Sha Tin Racecourse, for horses with rating 95+.





Prince Jewellery & Watch Premier Cup – 《HKJC》

Thomas Jackson – 《RacingMemories.HK》



Acknowledgment to HKJC Racing Registry for offering relevant records.





You need to log in to vote

The site requires users to be logged in before able to vote for this post.

Alternatively, if you do not have an account yet you can create one here.