Hong Kong Vase


The Race For Global Supreme Stayers


Raised by Stewards of the Club to encourage local owners to import top class stayers, the Hong Kong International Vase was inaugurated as a third international race in December 1994 and one of the four international races up to now.





The Hong Kong Vase is a Group 1 flat horse race in Hong Kong which is open to thoroughbreds aged three years or older.
It is run over a distance of 2,400 metres (about 1½ miles) at Sha Tin, and it is scheduled to take place each year in mid December.





Speed record:


Most wins:

  • 2 – LUSO (1996, 1997)
  • 2 – DOCTOR DINO (2007, 2008)


Most wins by a jockey:


Most wins by a trainer:

  • 2 – Elie Lellouche (1995, 2003)
  • 2 – Clive Brittain (1996, 1997)
  • 2 – Richard Gibson (2007, 2008)


Most wins by an owner:

  • 2 – Saeed Manana (1996, 1997)
  • 2 – Javier Martinez Salmean (2007, 2008)






1994-12-11 RED BISHOP for French-based trainer John Hammond and jockey Cash Asmussen set the track record time of 2 min 25:1 sec marked the first edition of the Vase, won by 12/1 chance ; another record was set by the 2.8 lengths margin of victory, and lasted for 11 times of the Vase.


1995-12-10 PARTIPRAL, another French-trained runner, lifted the title.


1996, accorded Group II status.


1996-12-08 LUSO, trained in England by Clive Brittain, with Frankie Dettori in the saddle went on land successive Vases.


1997-12-14 LUSO, the son of SALSE, under Mick Kinane won the second victory at the very cramped odds of 1.4 (2/5 favourite).


1998-12-13 INDIGENOUS, Hong Kong‘s only Vase victory arrived even among the best and consistent horses ever to grace Sha Tin. He got home by a neck from DARAZARI for multiple champion jockey Douglas Whyte and training maestro Ivan Allan. The Victory earned him a nice portion of his career earnings of HK$45 million and helped secure his only Horse of the Year crown.


1999-12-12 BORGIA, the top class racemare rounded off an excellent international career by proving a shade too strong for BIMBOLA at odds of 24/1 to give her perennial French champion trainer Andre Fabre his sole win to date at the CXHKIR. She was formerly trained in Germany where she defeated the colts to land the Deutsches Derby.


2000, accorded Group I status.


2000-12-17 DALIAPOUR‘s cosy win vindicated his purchase from the Aga Khan only weeks earlier by Robert Ng Chee-siong, the Singaporean property tycoon. Trained by Sir Michael Stoute, he was ridden by Johnny Murtagh to cap a memorable year for the jockey when he won 12 Gr.1 races worldwide.


2001-12-16 STAY GOLD the classy Japanese horse ridden by Yutaka Take defeated EKRAAR ridden by Frankie Dettori in the final strides. the The Godolphin hope was broken even in the shadows of the post halfway down the backstretch and pinched four lengths turning for home.


2002-12-15 ANGE GABRIEL, ridden by Thierry Jarnet for trainer Eric Libaud, defeated AQUARELLISTE, the other French horse.


2003-12-14 VALLEE ENCHANTEE (Dominque Boeuf, Elie Lellouche) bested POLISH SUMMER to produce the third French Vase quinella in five years. It became the second triumph for trainer Lellouche after PARTIPRAL.


2004-12-12 PHOENIX REACH at odds of 27, trained by Andrew Balding, was one of the classiest performers on the international circuit and in 2004 his Vase victory came in between triumphs in the Canadian International.


2005-12-11 OUIJA BOARD overcame a less than ideal trip and won going away under Kieren Fallon by 2.75 lengths over SIX SENSE from Japan and the local trained BEST GIFT. OUIJA BOARD was twice voted Europe’s Horse of the Year at the Cartier Awards in London.


2006-12-10 COLLIER HILL, another globetrotter, overcame his unfashionable background and relatively advanced age of an eight-year-old to get make the first run on the field and hold on by a whisker from a pair of Aga Khan owned runners in KASTORIA and SHAMDALA.


2007-12-09 DOCTOR DINO won with an excellent ride from Olivier Peslier, waiting for room and then flying late to get home 1 1/2 lengths in front of QUIJANO. Victory reverted back across the English Channel to France.


2008-12-14 DOCTOR DINO, trained by Englishman Richard Gibson, ridden by Frenchman Olivier Peslier and owned by Spanish owner Javier Martinez Salmean won the Vase again.


2009-12-13 DARYAKANA, a filly ridden by Gérald Mossé, produced a big finishing burst to win in 2009 from SPANISH MOON. Owned by His Highness the Aga Khan, it provided trainer Alain de Royer-Dupre with his second CXHKIR success following his win in the 2006 CXHK Cup with the mare PRIDE.


2010-12-12 Mastery ridden by Frankie Dettori took the Hong Kong Vase.




Winners of the Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Vase


Year Horse Name Jockey
1994 Red Bishop (USA) Cash Asmussen
1995 Partipral (USA) Olivier Peslier
1996 Luso (GB) Frankie Dettori
1997 Luso (GB) Michael Kinane
1998 Indigenous (IRE) Douglas Whyte
1999 Borgia (GER) Olivier Peslier
2000 Daliapour (IRE) Johnny Murtagh
2001 Stay Gold (JPN) Yutaka Take
2002 Ange Gabriel (FR) Thierry Jarnet
2003 Vallee Enchantee (IRE) Dominique Boeuf
2004 Phoenix Reach (IRE) Martin Dwyer
2005 Ouija Board (GB) Kieren Fallon
2006 Collier Hill (GB) Dean McKeown
2007 Doctor Dino (FR) Olivier Peslier
2008 Doctor Dino (FR) Olivier Peslier
2009 Daryakana (FR) Gérald Mossé
2010 Mastery (AUS) Frankie Dettori
2011 Dunaden (FR) Craig Williams
2012 Red Cadeaux (GB) Gérald Mossé
2013 Dominant (IRE) Zac Purton
2014 Flintshire (GB) Maxime Guyon
2015 Highland Reel (IRE) Ryan Noore
2016-12-11 SATONO CROWN (JPN) J Moreira
2017-12-10 HIGHLAND REEL (IRE) R Moore


(recorded by the birth place of the horse)






Few racing events in the world match the prominence and prestige accorded the HK$14-million Cathay Pacific International Vase, the world’s richest turf race for 2400m.






Photo Gallery


Video Showcase





You need to log in to vote

The site requires users to be logged in before able to vote for this post.

Alternatively, if you do not have an account yet you can create one here.