Hong Kong Mile (Invitation Bowl )


Compete for excellence


Formerly known as the Hong Kong Invitation Bowl, The Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Mile is the richest international mile race in the world.
Now, it is carrying a value of HK$16m (US$2.1m), a purse that is eight times higher than when first run at 1991.



The Richest Mile Race on Earth



1991, the race debuted to mark the staging of the 22nd Asian Racing Conference in Hong Kong.
1999, renamed as the Hong Kong Mile and run over 1600m from the old distance of 1400m.





Date Winner Age Jockey Trainer Owner Time
1991-12-15 ADDITIONAL RISK 3 Michael Kinane Dermot Weld Moyglare Stud Farm 01:21.9
1993-04-18 GLEN KATE 6 Corey Black Bill Shoemaker McNall / Gretzky 01:22.2
1993-12-12 WINNING PARTNERS 5 Michael Kinane Neville Begg Justin Yue Kwok Hung et al. 01:22.6
1994-12-11 SOVIET LINE 4 Walter Swinburn Michael Stoute Maktoum Al Maktoum 01:22.0
1995-12-10 MONOPOLIZE 5 Wayne Harris Grahame Begg Neville Begg & Partners 01:21.5
1996-12-08 MONOPOLIZE 6 Darren Beadman Grahame Begg Neville Begg & Partners 01:22.0
1997-12-14 CATALAN OPENING 5 Darren Beadman Bart Cummings Dato Tan Chin Nam 01:22.0
1998-12-13 JIM AND TONIC 4 Gérald Mossé François Doumen Martin / Barby 01:21.7
1999-12-12 DOCKSIDER 4 Olivier Peslier John Hills Gary A. Tanaka 01:34.7
2000-12-17 SUNLINE 5 Greg Childs Trevor McKee Trevor McKee et al. 01:34.2
2001-12-16 EISHIN PRESTON 4 Yuichi Fukunaga Shuji Kitahashi Toyomitsu Hirai 01:34.8
2002-12-15 OLYMPIC EXPRESS 4 Weichong Marwing Ivan Allan Larry Yung Chi Kin 01:34.9
2003-12-14 LUCKY OWNERS 3 Felix Coetzee Tony Cruz Mr & Mrs Leung Kai Fai 01:34.3
2004-12-12 FIREBREAK 5 Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Godolphin 01:34.6
2005-12-11 HAT TRICK 4 Olivier Peslier Katsuhiko Sumii Carrot Farm 01:34.8
2006-12-10 THE DUKE 6 Olivier Doleuze Caspar Fownes Eddie Yau, Jr. 01:33.4
2007-12-09 GOOD BA BA 5 Olivier Doleuze Andreas Schütz John Yuen Se Kit 01:34.5
2008-12-14 GOOD BA BA 6 Christophe Soumillon Andreas Schütz John Yuen Se Kit 01:32.7
2009-12-13 GOOD BA BA 7 Olivier Doleuze Derek Cruz John Yuen Se Kit 01:34.6
2010-12-12 BEAUTY FLASH 5 Gerald Mosse Tony Cruz Simon Kwok Siu Ming 01:34.8
2011-12-11 ABLE ONE 9 Jeff Lloyd John Moore Dr & Mrs Cornel Li Fook Kwan 01:34.0
2012-12-09 AMBITIOUS DRAGON 6 Zac Purton Anthony T. Millard Johnson Lam Pui Hung & Anderson Lam Hin Yue 01:34.1
2013-12-08 GLORIOUS DAYS 6 Douglas Whyte John Size Tom Brown’s Syndicate 01:33.6
2014-12-14 ABLE FRIEND 5 João Moreira John Moore Dr & Mrs Cornel Li Fook Kwan 01:33.5
2015-12-13 MAURICE 5 Ryan Moore N Hori Kazumi Yoshida 01.33.92
2016-12-11 7 Z Purton A S Cruz Eleanor Kwok Law Kwai Chun & Patrick Kwok Ho Chuen 01.33.48
2017-12-10 7 K C Leung A S Cruz Patrick Kwok Ho Chuen 01.33.72





1991-12-15:— ADDITIONAL RISK, scored at odds of 33/1 for Irish trainer Dermot Weld and jockey Mick Kinane.


1993-04-18:— GLEN KATE landed the second renewal at odds of 25/1.


1993-12-12:— WINNING PARTNERS scored at odds of 2.7 for trainer Begg with Kinane again.


1994-12-11:— SOVIET LINE won for Britain by Swainburn.


1995-12-10:— MONOPOLIZE won the Bowl at odds of 12/1, ridden by Wayne Harris for his father-in-law’s family .


1996-12-08:— MONOPOLIZE registered a repeat victory at 6/1 odds for Aussie trainer Grahame Begg and this time ridden by jockey Beadman.


1997-12-14:— CATALAN OPENING scored the first and only overseas cup for Australian trainingCups King“, Bart Cummings who was the master of Chan Yuk-lun Alan in the 1970s. Beadman won this trophy successively.


1998-12-13:— JIM AND TONIC, with French trainer Francois Doumen, won at odds of nearly 10/1.


1999-12-12:— DOCKSIDER won at the shortest odds to date of 2.1 for American owner G Tanaka and English trainer J Hills.


2000-12-17:— SUNLINE the New Zealand mare clung on by a short head and defeated FAIRY KING PRAWN.


2001-12-16:— EISHIN PRESTON won at odds of 23/1 with record margin of 3.3 lengths.


2002-12-15:— OLYMPIC EXPRESS of 48/1 defeated stable mate and Horse of the Year ELECTRONIC UNICORN.


2003-12-14:— LUCKY OWNERS scrambled past the line in front of BOWMAN’S CROSSING for Cruz and Coetzee.


2004-12-12:— FIREBREAK, scored for Godolphin, defeated local hopes PERFECT PARTNER and THE DUKE.


2005-12-11:— HAT TRICK ran past his field with a strong turn-of-foot in a fast time of 1.34.8 seconds for Japan.


2006-12-10:— THE DUKE, ridden by Doleuze held on courageous by a head over ARMADA to capture his first Group 1.


2007-12-09:— GOOD BA BA gave Doleuze a back-to-back win as another HKIS graduate, , trainer Schutz.


2008-12-14:— GOOD BA BA rider Christophe Soumillon gave trainer Schutz a back-to-back win.


2009-12-13:— GOOD BA BA made history as a winner for an unprecedented third time in a row.


2010-12-12:— BEAUTY FLASH with Gerald Mosse on board defeated ROYAL BENCH to claim the Cathay for trainer Tony Cruz, made HongKong took the award for five consecutive years.








Speed record: (at present distance of 1,600 metres)


1:32.71 – Good Ba Ba (2008)


Most wins:


3 – Good Ba Ba (2007, 2008, 2009)


Most wins by a jockey:


3 – Olivier Doleuze (2006, 2007, 2009)



Most wins by a trainer:


2 – Grahame Begg (1995, 1996)


2 – Andreas Schütz (2007, 2008)



Most wins by an owner:


3 – John Yuen Se Kit (2007, 2008, 2009)


The Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Mile has consistently lured many of the greatest milers and middle-distance runners from throughout the world.






Video Showcase


Photo Gallery





You need to log in to vote

The site requires users to be logged in before able to vote for this post.

Alternatively, if you do not have an account yet you can create one here.