Hong Kong Cup Trial – Jockey Club Cup


Stayers Rehearsal


Jockey Club Cup (Group 2)


(formerly Hong Kong Cup Trial)


All have been held on Turf in Sha Tin Racecourse yearly.




Top Private Purchases Drill


Introduction & History


2002-11-16, The Hong Kong Cup Trial was introduced.


It has been a lead-up to the Hong Kong Cup.


It was, originally a domestic Group 3 event.


All races of this trophy have been run over 2000m on the turf yearly in Sha Tin.


2003-11-15, THE ASIA’S WORLD CITY was pre-fixed on the title and promoted to a domestic Group 2.


2005-11-13 , this race was renamed Cathay Pacific International Cup Trial and and upgraded to a domestic Group 2 event.


2010-11-14, it has been renamed Cathay Pacific Jockey Club Cup and and promoted to International Group 2.


2012-11-18, carrying a total prize money of HK$3,000,000.





Date Horse Brand ori Owner Trainer Jockey
2002-11-16 RED PEPPER A196 GB Mr & Mrs Chau Kam Chuen P C Kan G Schofield
2003-11-15 ELEGANT FASHION C190 AUS Dr & Mrs Gene Tsoi Wai Wang D A Hayes D Whyte
2004-11-14 AIN’T HERE C288 AUS Robert Ng Chee Siong D A Hayes B Prebble
2005-11-13 VENGEANCE OF RAIN D142 NZ Raymond Gianco Chow Hon Man & the Executors of the Estate of the late Chow Nam D E Ferraris A Delpech
2006-11-12 HELLO PRETTY E210 AUS Kwok Siu Ming A S Cruz B Prebble
2007-11-11 VIVA PATACA G096 GB Stanley Ho Hung Sun J Moore D Beadman
2008-11-16 VIVA PATACA G096 GB Stanley Ho Hung Sun J Moore D Beadman
2009-11-15 COLLECTION K217 IRE 07/08 John Moore Trainer Syndicate J Moore W C Marwing
2010-11-14 IRIAN L187 GER Siu Pak Kwan J Moore B Prebble
2011-11-20 THUMBS UP K005 NZ Leung Chung Shan C Fownes B Prebble
2012-11-18 CALIFORNIA MEMORY L135 USA Howard Liang Yum Shing A S Cruz M Chadwick
2013-11-17 ENDOWING N371 IRE Ada Wong Yin Man J Size T Angland
2014-11-23 BLAZING SPEED P192 GB Fentons Racing Syndicate A S Cruz N Callan
2015-11-21 MILITARY ATTACK N175 IRE Canny Leung Chi Shan C Fownes Z Purton
2016-11-20 SECRET WEAPON S217 GB Leung Lun Ping C H Yip N Rawiller





The Winners List has 3 Horses of the Year:


The Most Winning Horses Origin:

3 times AUS and GB


The Most Winning Horses Type:

11 times PP


The Most Winning Horses

2 times by VIVA PATACA


The Most Winning Owner:
2 times by Stanley Ho Hung Sun


The Most Winning Trainer:
4 times by J Moore, in a roll from 2007 to 2010


The Most Winning Jockey:
3 times by B Prebble





2012-11-18, it was renamed as The Longines Jockey Club Cup.






Video Showcase
Photo Gallery





You need to log in to vote

The site requires users to be logged in before able to vote for this post.

Alternatively, if you do not have an account yet you can create one here.