Sapientia et Virtus


The University of Hong Kong (informally known as HKU or Hong Kong University) is a public research university located in Pokfulam, Hong Kong.

1911-03-30 the university was incorporated in Hong Kong as a self-governing body of scholars.

1912-03-11 had its official opening ceremony, first enrollment of students in the same year.



Wisdom and Strength


1971-03-16, Racing in Hong Kong turned professional.

At that time, a number of prominent Clubs in Hong Kong were invited by the Stewards of the Club to donate a Trophy.

Among them was the Hong Kong University Alumni Association.





1971-03-27 inaugural running of the Hong Kong University Alumni Association Cup race was held.



Year Horse Jockey Trainer Owner Stakes Dist.
1971-1972 SEVEN LUCK Ho K Y Sofronoff G Ho Man Fat $20,000 1650
1972-1973 KIDDY LAND Pretty G Burns R David C W Yeh $28,500 1235
1973-1974 SAMPLE Cheam A K Cheung H M Chan Tak Tai $35,000 1800
1974-1975 SUGAR PEARL Moore G W Moore G Wu & Ho $28,000 2230
1975-1976 REALLY TALENTED Lane G Au K H Wong Sik Kong $28,500 1235
1976-1977 SAUCY GWYNN Hood W Sofronoff G Hong Kong Club Syndicate $30,000 2230
1977-1978 WINNERS’ DELIGHT Moore G W Moore G Leong Cho Wong $32,000 1575
1978-1979 CAN’T SAY NO Leyshan P Smyth G Eddie Tam Ping Ching $46,500 1600
1979-1980 CROWN KING Andrews B Ward A Wong Sze Fong $67,000 1800
1980-1981 TRUST ME MORE Brosnan D Cheung H M David T K Wong-Fung Hon Chu $82,000 1200
1981-1982 HERCULES Chan Y C Robertson C Denis F P Li $95,000 1000
1982-1983 INVINCIBLE Moore G W Moore G Lai Ko Nin $105,000 1400
1983-1984 GOOD SPORT Tsui K L Lee T L Daniel Paul Leung $125,000 1400



Date Horse Owner Trainer Jockey Dist. Time
1984-09-29 LONGCHAMP Medilex Syndicate E Collingwood E Hide 1235 1.17.40
1985-10-05 KRONBORG Anarew K O T P Wong A S Cruz 1575 1.42.40
1986-10-04 BARRACUDA Annie Wong T P Wong A S Cruz 1200 1.11.30
1987-10-04 GOLD APPLE Quo Wei Lee J Moore G Allendorf 1200 1.11.90
1988-10-01 IRISH EYES Mr & Mrs Fung Ming Chung J Moore B Compton 1900 1.58.60
1989-10-01 SOMETHING SPECIAL T H Barma H M Cheung C K Chung 2000 2.09.80
1990-09-29 LICHINSKY Hon K C Cheung – Hon P F Lee P C Kan B Thomson 1200 1.11.30
1991-09-28 SAY YES Lau Ngok Wah B Hutchison R Thompson 1400 1.24.10
1992-09-27 A BETTER WORLD Ng Sui Cheong D Oughton J Marshall 2000 2.03.00
1993-12-21 SPACE ROCK Lum Kam Fay P H Chan J K S Ho 1800 1.50.90
1994-09-24 GOLD YUE YEE Mr & Mrs U Tat Ming P C Kan P Hutchinson 1400 1.23.80
1995-09-23 EVASIVE TACTIC Mr & Mrs Chan Kwok Leung D A Hayes S King 1400 1.22.70
1996-09-21 EASY CHAMP James Lau Chi Wing T P Cheung E Saint-Martin 1600 1.37.30
1997-09-20 GOLDEN DUKE Tam Wing Chuen P C Kan K H Ting 1600 1.35.90
1998-09-19 CREAM Zee Kwoh Kung I W Allan D Whyte 1400 1.22.40
1999-09-18 DANZIGHILL Cheung Yiu Ming A S Cruz F Coetzee 1400 1.22.10
2000-09-17 OVATION IJDH Syndicate L Fownes W Woods 1200 1.10.10
2001-09-15 NEW ASIANS New Asia Alumni Syndicate K W Lui W C Marwing 1400 1.22.60
2002-09-14 ALL THE BEST Tsen Yun Lei D Cruz W C Marwing 1400 1.25.40
2003-09-27 BEETHOVEN Sidney Chiu Yung Sit D A Hayes C Williams 1400 1.22.30
2005-02-05 WEALTHY Ngan Keng Hing C H Yip E Saint-Martin 1400 1.23.10
2006-06-10 LUCKY BABY Ho Sau Ki C S Shum S Dye 1000 0.57.90
2007-01-20 SACRED KINGDOM Sin Kang Yuk P F Yiu D Nikolic 1000 0.57.30
2008-02-02 PICKETT Mr & Mrs Johnny Shih Jar Yi C W Chang P H Lo 1200 1.10.50
2009-06-21 AMPLE GAINS Focal Syndicate K L Man Z Purton 1650 1.39.20
2010-06-12 LITTLE BRIDGE Ko Kam Piu C S Shum Z Purton 1000 0.56.14
2011-06-05 JUST FANTASTIC Perfect Match Syndicate Y S Tsui K C Ng 1650 1.39.30
2012-06-03 GIGGLES FOREVER Peter Lee Kwok Wah C W Chang W C Marwing 1600 1.35.82
2013-06-12 MY FAVORITE Leon Chan, Kwok Fu Shing, Julian Cheung Chi Lam & Eric Chow Man Hei C Fownes T Berry 1200 1.09.80
2014-06-15 FANTASTICO Francis Heung Kwok Chun P F Yiu M Du Plessis 1000 0.56.47
2015-06-07 TOP ACT Bonnie Chan Yiting, Anthony Derek Lai Shu Yan, Ricky Choy Wing Kay & Dominic Lee Kan Nam A T Millard K Teetan 1800 1.48.39
2016-06-05 DEJA VU Li Wai Yin A Lee K C Leung 1200 1.08.23
2017-06-11 BEAT THE CLOCK Merrick Chung Wai Lik J Size J Moreira 1800 1.21.82
2018-06-03_8 SAUL’S SPECIAL Chen Zhuo Lin C W Chang O Doleuze 1000 0.55.85
2019-06-02_8 BAND OF BROTHERS Z Power Syndicate P O’Sullivan Z Purton 1600 1.34.82







HKUAA Cup has been the first trophy race affliiated to the academic institute in Hong Kong.





From retrievable racing records:


The Most Winning Trainers:
3 times by G Moore and P C Kan


The Most Winning Jockeys:
3 times by G W Moore and W Marwing






Photo Gallery


Video Showcase



Acknowledgement to HKJC Racing Registry for offering record data.





You need to log in to vote

The site requires users to be logged in before able to vote for this post.

Alternatively, if you do not have an account yet you can create one here.